RSS Lesson Plan

RSS is something that I was not overly familiar with before this class started.  I thought of newsfeed only as something connected to social media sites; however, the research for this class has really been an eye opening experience.  I learned an immense amount of information on what an RSS feed is, how it can be incorporated in the classroom, the information that can be found, and more.

The most difficult part of this assignment is that I feel there is still so much more to learn.  Feedly has so much to offer that one week just did not feel like enough.  I am looking forward to learning more about Feedly and how to incorporate it even more in the classroom.  I feel like Feedly (or something similar) is a wonderful way to encourage reading articles in the classroom.  If I had more time, I would have spent more time on Feedly.  I feel like I could spend hours reading and posting articles.  I hope that students feel the same loss of time in reading and researching the articles on Feedly.

While I have not yet incorporated this lesson in my classroom, I am excited to do so.  I feel that the students will show growth in reading comprehension and analysis of text.  I cannot wait to try this out.  I may be able to modify it and incorporate it second semester only.  I really like the idea of using Google Drive to create a portfolio for students to assess their own work.

Here is the link to my lesson:  RSS Lesson Plan.

2 thoughts on “RSS Lesson Plan

  1. I think that this lesson has some real value. Having the students read and write each week will certainly help them in all subject areas! I do have a few questions about your lesson. Will you provide access to technology for the students each week? Do students have some guidelines as to what kind of articles they need to read? Are they to be linked to humanities? I’d also be interested to see your rubric. Great idea!

    Like

  2. I am going to let them pick the article as long as it is (somewhat) scholarly and appropriate for the classroom. I feel this will make them want to read the articles more than avoid the activity. I teach a remedial course, so I feel getting them to read and write is half the battle.

    Like

Leave a Reply

